the official home of the western water polo association

WWPA Member Schools
photo
 
News Photo
Women's Water Polo - Sat, Apr. 29, 2017

2017 WWPA Women's Championship Central  |  Updated Bracket  |  Tournament Leaders

GENEVA, Ohio -- Top-seed UC San Diego crushed No. 4 seed Cal State Monterey Bay 20-8 in semifinal number one on Saturday, and No. 3 seed Sonoma State scored the game-winner with less than a minute to play in regulation to upset No. 2 seed Cal State East Bay 7-6 in semifinal number two, setting up the first-ever UCSD-SSU matchup in Sunday's WWPA final, highlighting Saturday's action at the 2017 WWPA Women's Championship Tournament at SPIRE Institute in Genva, Ohio. 

No. 5 seed Mercyhurst captured 5th Place in the WWPA with a 10-5 triumph over No. 6 seed Gannon in the first game of the day Saturday.

FRIDAY
GAME 1:  #3 Sonoma State 12, #6 Gannon 6 -- Box Score  |  SSU Recap  |  Gannon Recap
GAME 2:  #4 Cal State Monterey Bay 13, #5 Mercyhurst 8 -- Box Score  |  CSUMB Recap  |  Mercyhurst Recap

SATURDAY
GAME 3:  #5 Mercyhurst 10, #6 Gannon 5 (5th Place Game) -- Box Score  |  Mercyhurst Recap  |  Gannon Recap
GAME 4:  #1 UC San Diego 20, #4 Cal State Monterey Bay 8 -- Box Score  |  UCSD Recap  |  CSUMB Recap
GAME 5:  #3 Sonoma State 7, #2 Cal State East Bay 6 -- Box Score  |  SSU Recap  |  CSUEB Recap

Championship Sunday is now set as No. 2 Cal State East Bay will play No. 4 Cal State Monterey Bay for 3rd Place at 9:30 am EDT before No. 1 UC San Diego and No. 3 Sonoma State play for the WWPA title and the conference's automatic bid into the NCAA tournament at 11:15 am EDT.  The Tritons will be looking to capture their fifth straight WWPA crown, while the Seawolves will be gunning for their first-ever conference title.

3RD PLACE GAME (Sunday, 9:30 am EDT): #2 Cal State East Bay vs #4 Cal State Monterey Bay -- Live Stats  |  Live Video
CHAMPIONSHIP GAME (Sunday, 11:15 am EDT): #1 UC San Diego vs #3 Sonoma State -- Live Stats  |  Live Video

 
 
WWPA Scores
Today
No Events Today.
Results
Saturday, May 6
Women's Water Polo
Sunday, Apr 30
Women's Water Polo
Saturday, Apr 29
Women's Water Polo
Friday, Apr 28
Women's Water Polo
Saturday, Apr 22
Women's Water Polo
Friday, Apr 21
Women's Water Polo
Saturday, Apr 15
Women's Water Polo
Friday, Apr 14
Women's Water Polo
Thursday, Apr 13
Women's Water Polo
Wednesday, Apr 12
Women's Water Polo
Saturday, Apr 8
Women's Water Polo
Friday, Apr 7
Women's Water Polo
Live
No Live Events.